History of The Eagle, Globe and Anchor
In 1776, the device consisted of a "fouled anchor" of silver or pewter. (A fouled anchor is an anchor which has one or more turns of the chain around it). The fouled anchor still forms a part of the emblem today. Changes were made in 1798, 1821, and 1824. In 1834, it was prescribed that a brass eagle be worn on the hat, the eagle to measure 3 ½ inches from wingtip to wingtip.

During the early years numerous distinguishing marks were prescribed, including "black cockades," "scarlet plumes," and "yellow bands and tassels." In 1859 the origin of the present color scheme for the officer's dress uniform ornaments appeared on an elaborate device of solid white metal and yellow metal. The design included a United States shield, half wreath, a bugle, and the letter "M."
In 1868, Brigadier General Commandant Jacob Zeilin appointed a board "to decide and report upon the various devices of cap ornaments of the Marine Corps." On November 13, 1868, the board turned in its report. It was approved by the Commandant four days later, and was signed by the Secretary of the Navy on November 19, 1868.
The emblem recommended by the 1868 board consisted of a globe (showing the Western Hemisphere) intersected by a fouled anchor, and surmounted by a spread eagle. On the emblem itself, the device is topped by a ribbon inscribed with the Latin motto "Semper Fidelis" (Always Faithful). The uniform ornaments omit the motto ribbon.
The general design of the emblem was probably derived from the Royal Marines' "Globe and Laurel." The globe on the U.S. Marine emblem signifies continuing historical service in any part of the world. The eagle represents the nation of the United States. The anchor, whose origin dates back to the founding of the Marine Corps in 1775, acknowledges the naval tradition of the United States Marines and their continual service under the command of the Department of the Navy. - from
(Visit The American Cowboys Chronicles (a fellow Marine Detachment vet) post, "The Marine Corps Emblem & Henry Clay Cochrane" for more details on the history of the EGA.)

Congressional Medal Of Honors
Click this pic for a real American hero story!
At the time of this writing (9.25.2015) a total of 297 Marines have been the recipients of the Congressional Medal of Honor awards. Men like Smedley Butler, Dan Daly, John Basilone, Louis H. Wilson Jr., Grant F. Timmerman and recently Sgt. Dakota Meyer.

"Some people spend a lifetime wondering if they made a difference in the world. But the Marines don't have that problem."
-Ronald Reagan,
President of the United States, 1985.